So what would you do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chiefsmom

Boxer Insane
Okay... so my work world recently got turned upside down (fortunately... possibly, for the better... depending...). I work in Quality for the vocational dept. of a non-for-profit human services organization serving folks with developmental disabilities. My job has been to maintain the paperwork and files according to federal regulations as well as to write proposals and grants to government agencies to get funding for the services we provide. Recently (a week ago) the assistant director of residential services approached me and offered me a position (with quite a bit more $) to supervise an Intensive Care Facility (as they had me in mind due to my B.A. degree and also 3 years service in the field fo Human Services, in general). Just to give you a background... I worked as a voc. rehab counselor in a community setting (teaching and training on the job skills in a competitive work setting). My concern is.... I know NOTHING about residential services and their operations... It's like an ENTIRE different world from where I'd be moving from. I'm researching the info more... but am still nervous about the fact that I have ZERO residential background and knowledge and would have to supervise staff that probably know way more than I do. What would you do in this scenario???? I have until Monday to think about this and I am VERY unsure.... I guess I'm just feeling uneasy about the department change. ANY thoughts or similar experiences would be helpful! Thanks!

punchinella

Boxer Insane