Better to have 1 or 2 boxers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mgohr

Boxer Pal
I am new to the fourm and hope I am posting in the right spot. I have a 7 month old female boxer and am considering adopting a 3 year old male (both spayed and neutered). My female is pretty well trained on walking, sit, come, etc. so I'm thinking now is the time to bring in another dog before she becomes very possessive of her territory. Can anyone give me their thoughts/opinions based on their experience?

thanks!

Moderator note: the Chit Chat forum is for no boxer related message (see description on top of the page). Thread moved to the Boxer Ring.

garvinsmum

Completely Boxer Crazy
2 for sure

Most dogs are better with another dog. I'll never have just one again. I did for years but after having 2 I would not make another dog live alone again. Of course there are a small number of dogs who don't cope with other dogs, but if your girl is fine with other dogs out and about she should enjoy another dogs company.
It's best to introduce them first though and make sure they like each other first.
Mind you, I never did. I have adopted 2 females and 1 male to share with my male. Only the male didn't work out (we took him as an emergency case even though it was pretty obvious from the start that they wouldn't work out)
Otherwise they have got along wonderfully, after the female has very clearly explained who is boss. Yes a 25kg girl can indeed get a nearly 40kg male down and begging for mercy.
The two I have now are so happy and loving it brings joy to me everyday and it is even better when you have rescued an unwanted dog.

iluvfrankie

Completely Boxer Crazy
From my experience none of my dogs have been 'possessive' of their patch when another dog comes to visit. I have a 4 year old girl and my 10 week old baby is getting on great with her no issues at all- its like hes been here forever! So i wouldnt see the need to rush into getting another if you are only worried abut territory.