1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cesar's Way

Discussion in 'Books' started by tmschult, Apr 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tmschult

tmschult Boxer Booster

I apologize if this has already been talked about- I didnt go back that far to see the old posts.

I just finished the book and was wondering if anyone else had read it and what their thoughts were?

I really do like how he focuses on how dogs behave in the wild naturally- being a biologist, I like his way of thinking.

I just am a little concerned.. I am definitely a "nervous energy" kind of person.. a little neurotic ( I can admit it) and i'm a little nervous (see!) that maybe I'm not the right owner for a boxer according to his book. I'm trying to be the "calm-assertive" that he describes- but it's definitely not a natural thing for me. My puppy is 12 weeks old does not listen, very defiant.. but I'm not sure if that's him being a puppy or him thinking he rules the house.

Any feedback is appreciated.

2. chrystel

chrystel Boxer Insane

I love Cesar and I love Victoria Stillwell. I tend, little by little, to agree more with the later one.

but I have read the book Cesar's way and really really liked it :)

I know our state of mind/energy do influence our dogs. I don't think he belives he owns your house..

I think if you set rules and boundaries.. and lots of fun/play time, your puppy will come right around and respect you :) I think the best is to develop a strong trust based relationship with your pup :)

I think dogs are way more balanced when they know what to do and know what to expect :)

3. IkesMyDog

IkesMyDog Boxer Buddy

I've listened to it on CD. Its a good book and it.s interesting to hear about Cesars personal history.

Exercise, discipline, affection in that order.

4. ehayes21

ehayes21 Boxer Insane