Books?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pawbla

Boxer Buddy
Hello! I'm studying to be a canine instructor. I'd like to learn about agility and possibly get the sport started in my city. So I'm mostly looking for books, especially if purchasable in E-BOOK format because of the importation bans in my country. I'm also meeting an agility instructor soon so I can get started with my dog.

I'm short on cash, so I'd rather spend a bit more on a very complete book than buy a thousand small and cheap books. If possible, I'd like it to be aimed to future agility instructors rather than the standard owner (I already have some of those).

If anybody has any suggestion, I'd be really grateful!

TwoDogs

Boxer Insane
There aren't too many ebooks written specifically on instructing agility classes. However, in preparation for offering classes, you will want to perfect your own skills in general dog training, including breaking down behaviors, setting criteria, formulating and evaluating training plans, evaluating and timing different reinforcers and punishers, using reinforcement schedules in order to identify what dogs in your classes will need. There are plenty of good ebooks available that will help with this. Check out Welcome to Dogwise.com - Dog Books, Ebooks and Toys

You'll obviously want to focus on your own instruction skills as well. You can be the best at agility or any other dog training yourself, but if you lack instruction skills, you won't be a good teacher--trust me, I've wasted good money taking classes from people who are wonderful at what they do, but horrible at teaching others. Look for ebooks that focus on group instruction skills in general. The same strategies and techniques will transfer to agility instruction.