1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

malignant or not?

Discussion in 'Boxer Anatomy and Physiology' started by ooh.eck, Aug 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ooh.eck

ooh.eck Boxer Pal

i have recently been given a 5 yo boxer bitch.half way down her back leg she has rather a large lump(about the size of a childs fist)i took her straight to the vets who said that lumps like this are common on boxers and should be reported immediately.as i have only had the dog a week i couldn't do that.the vet also said that the chances of being a cyst were very slim and it seemed more likely to be a malignant growth(it does have a root on it)does anybody else know of these lumps?it doesn't hurt her in the slighest.she is booked in the vets in a week to have the lump removed and analyzed.i am quite worried as i am new to the world of boxers and didn't know they had problems like this.i am right to be worried or am i panickng over nothing?any help would be appreciated.

hayley 5yo red/white bitch
    shaymus 4yo brindle/white staffy

2. None-removed

None-removed Guest

Boxer bumps are pretty common, some times malignant, many times benign. The size of it bothers me, as does the fact that it does have tendrils. Given the size of the lump, I would definitely go along with the excision and a biopsy to determine if it is malignant or not. Either way, after the excision, it may present no more problems. It's hard, but try not to get too upset by it and wait for the biopsy results. If it is malignant there are still many, many effective treatment protocols with very good prognoses, and, if it is excised with a wide margin, excision may be the only treatment necessary.

Please let us know how things progress, we'll keep her in our thoughts.

:)

3. Debbie Magon

Debbie Magon Boxer Pal

It sounds very much like a large histiocytoma which boxers get quite freqently.