Job path

Status
Not open for further replies.

oz4lines

Completely Boxer Crazy
Just a curiosity question.
I was wondering what career paths we chose as kids, what we do now for a living, how many years have you been at this job and if you still love it.

I'm a florist.
I celebrated my 18th year on the job yesturday and can honestly say that I still love it. Of course there are always those days and weeks I would answer differently.(like this holiday season and most holidays)
Exactly half my life has been working here.
I studied horticulture in high school, college and then hit the real life career doing my dream job.

My other dream jobs as a child were to work the french fry fryer at Mcdonalds (very young) or to be a vet( but couldn't stand to see any animal suffer, even though the point is to make them better)

So, how about you?

Billysmum

Boxer Insane
I would have really liked to have taught horse riding. But I think when I was at school this was too out of the norm and the careers teacher and my parents didn't take me seriously. I was too immature to just go for it and so I ended up taking typing etc and working in offices until I left work when I had my second child.

I'd like to get back to work now that both girls are at school and have been thinking of training to be a vet nurse or something. I'm still thinking - but I know I don't really want to go back to office work.

vaboxer

Completely Boxer Crazy
I always wanted to be a teacher and I actually graduated college with a degree in English which is the type of teacher I always wanted to be...

But, unfortunetly, teachers dont make a lot of money and when I graduated I had over $18000.00 in loans to pay off so I went into corporate america to work and here I am three years later...

I am hoping to start school again this year and get certified to teach...Ive found that $ doesnt do it for me anymore, I need a job I love to go to...and this certainly is not it!

Donna741

Boxer Insane