1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gingival hyperplasia and periondontal disease

Discussion in 'Dog Health issues and questions' started by axp113, Feb 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. axp113

axp113 Boxer Booster

I just wanted to share my recent experience with Harley. He is a 6 year old boxer and i have been feeding raw food for about 5 years now. For a while his breath smelled really bad and i noticed some overgrown gums in his mouth. so i did some research and realized he probably had gingival hyperplasia and periondontal disease. So we took him to the vet and they confirmed what i thought was going on. They recommeded a dental cleaning, removeal of overgrown gum tissue and tooth extraction, so we set up the dental surgery. After the dental surgery they removed some excess gum tissue and removed 9 teeth (all 6 front teeth on the lower jaw, between the canine teeth), 1 molar and 2 teeth behind the canine teeth.

One day after the surgery, his teeth look a lot better and the gum tissue looks almost normal, but the vet told me that he has Grade 3 (moderate periondontal disease). The before and after pictures show a big improvement from what it was. I know the gum tissue will probably grow back and was wondering if there is anything that could be done to help delay the re-growth of this tissue? I am going to make more of an effort to brush his teeth so i can prevent any more teeth being removed.

Now i read the Raw Meaty Bones book a long time ago and it really gave me a great perspective on RAW feeding, thus making the switch to RAW, one of the best things i have ever done. So, i thought that might prevent something like this happening, but i am wondering if this was more due to a genetic factor than a feeding factor?