Emergency: I fed t-bones-now I'm freaking out!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joan I.

Boxer Buddy
Hi all:

Some barf advice for a new barf diet person please!

I am new at this and thought all bones were okay as long as they are raw, and I gave Kaylee a raw t-bone. Then, while she was eating it, I suddenly felt nervous about it so I ran down and looked up "t-bones okay?" on the barf forum and read a thread that said they are a no-no and could pierce my sweetie's lungs or other organs.

Has anyone out there fed t-bones to your boxer? Please tell me they were okay! What should I look out for now for signs of trouble with her?

I am praying I haven't made a fatal error here. She managed to eat just half of the t-bone before I took it away from her.

Anyone who knows anything about this I would so appreciate a fast reply!

Joni

jaimie

Boxer Insane
Is she acting ok? Eating, drinking etc???? I wouldn't really worry about her unless she starts acting different and not eating. I have to admit my girls have gotten into bones before-cooked and YES I did freak when I found out. I just kept an eye on them & they are fine. I'd just remember next time save the t-bone for yourself & give the pooch the femur. :) ;)

Jaimie

Joan I.

Boxer Buddy
Kaylee still seems ok

Well so far no change in her behavior. It ws about 2-3 hours ago she ate the t-bone.

I felt so bad taking it away from her, she was so enjoying it. Real test of a gentle dog to let me grab that meaty t-bone right out of her mouth!

I hope she digests it fine but I can tell you she won't get a t-bone again.

Are there any other kinds of bones dogs shouldn't have?

Thanks for the prompt reply. I did feel better when I read it.

I hope everything is fine with my girl!

Thanks again...

Joni

Jan

Reasonable Moderator
Staff member
How is Kaylee? As long as she chomped up the bones really well, they probably wouldn't cause a problem. I have fed similar bones before without any problems.