Considering barf

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cami

Boxer Insane
I have been considering BARF for my girl for a few months now. The only thing that is holding me off is the fact that I don't have the time nor the means to prepare these meals. I noticed in a previous post that there are numerous companies that these meals can be obtained from, (one located in my home state).

I understand the many health benefits, but I am so unfamilliar with all of the different terms (tripe comes to mind!). Are these meals that are prepared and then bought just as beneficial as doing it yourself? I wouldn't even know where to begin on cooking a chicken neck or the other 100's of items that I didn't even know existed.

I also worry about detox....I know that it is short term but I worry about my girl not feeling well. My dh wouldn't mind losing the weekly "poo-detail" and I would love to know that I was doing everything in my power to give my girl a healthy and long productive life.

So, I guess what I "want" to hear is, "Yes, the meals that can be bought are just as good!!!" But, if it sounds to good to be true it usually is.....

Any advice, or direction?? Thanks

Bers

Banned
You can get premade BARF in different forms. I just started feeding Koda Dr. Billinghurst's premade BARF patties, and they come frozen with absolutely everything included. You just thaw and serve. This is very convenient, but also very expensive (about $70 for 25 lb. of food, and he's eating a pound a day). That's one option, and there are other manufacturers that make similar products, but you really have to be careful who you get it from to ensure they use the best ingredients and know what they're doing.