1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Conscience check - which is more humane?

Discussion in 'Other Pets' started by msnitsirk, Dec 15, 2016.

1. msnitsirk

msnitsirk Boxer Booster

This will be very very long winded and I apologize in advance to anyone who will listen/read and offer advice......

I always used to post and say I was a newbie here when I posted. I think I've been around long enough not to be a newbie anymore. I think many of your know me and Sammie by now. I certainly appreciate all the support I got from you all before I took a 2 week vacation to Iceland. Sammie had a spell before that and you all were very supportive and thankfully Sammie had no issues while I was in Iceland or since. For a 10 year old Boxer she is quite the trooper and I thank you all for your support while I had my mini-meltdown before I left her with my more than capable pet sitter. I thank you all and I thank my sitter.

The reason for my against right now is that I have a cat here on our property since last July. Not July 2016, July 2015. I am allergic to cats, my bf is allergic to cats and neither of us really like cats. Regardless, she showed up, had no where else to go and we fed her. Now she's been with us as an outside cat since July 2015. She is not feral. She obviously used to be someones pet that ran away or got dumped (I think the more likely scenario) Even in summer she stares through our sliding glass door and wants to be inside. I have purchased a heated outdoor kitty house that I plug in under my covered porch for her. Last winter was no problem. This winter we are already seeing below zero temps and I'm not sure that thing is warm enough for her. She's not left it in over a week except to eat or drink the warm water I give her twice a day. (I can't do more, I work 8 hours away from home.)