• My famale is a great protector of my small kids

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .
Status
Not open for further replies.

Des11

Boxer Booster
I have been getting varying degrees of advice from dog owners and boxer owners. I have a 6 year old daughter and a3 year old son. By the time the pup come home my son will be 4 . I am buying a "pet" boxer from a wonderful professional breeder. She suggest a male for my family, but than I am also being told no difference and oh no............you must get a female with small kids.

HELP!! What are your experiences and advice

buddy'smom

Boxer Pal
Hmmm....

I am not an expert in this field, I can only relate to my own experience with the two boxers I have owned. IMO I think rather than the sex of the boxer, it is more the individual disposition of the boxer that matters.

Our first boxer was a male, and he was excellent with children. When he was just two past, my niece was born, and she spent a minimum of 5 days a week at our home. There was never any issues, he became her best friend, playmate and secret keeper (as she got older :) ) He never flinched when she tugged his ears, pulled his jowels and played very nicely with her during the 5 yrs they had together.

Kailee, our female, came to live with us at the age of 2. As well, she is an excellent playmate with children, very gentle, the only difference I see in her, is that she lacks the protective instinct of children that Buddy showed. Our friends own a female, Buddy's sister, and she too has been extremly tolerant and patient with children.