1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any teachers out there? (LONG but need advice)

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Brindlegirly, Nov 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brindlegirly

Brindlegirly Boxer Booster

I've been teaching elementary for 7 years, and have had several principals (all at the same school). This year we got another new one, we are at a Title school, the toughest in our city. 90 some percent of our students are on free and reduced lunch. Anyway, I'm struggling with this new principal. She had a meeting Thursday with all the staff and I quote: "I don't support the teachers, I support the students, I'm not here for you, I'm here for the students." I think all of our mouths dropped to the floor....NEVER knew a principal would be like this. So now our students know that they won't have any consequences for their behaviors. They don't care if they get sent to the office. I teach 6th grade, and thankfully I looped with them and taught the same group as 5th graders. So I have great relationships with them and their families. I just worry about the new teachers, the ones that are trying to figure out how to manage their rooms, and have to do it on their own. Zero support, except from other teachers.