1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

American VS German

Discussion in 'Boxer Standard' started by Brick, Jan 22, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brick

Brick Boxer Pal

Hi. I am new to this site. I have an 8 1/2 month old, 60 lb. male boxer named Brick. He is an absolute joy (when he isn't eating my shoes!!). My question is, someone asked my husband the other day if we had a German boxer or an American. We had never heard of this. They said we had a German one when he answered some of their questions. Does anyone know if this is true and what the difference is? Thank you.:confused:

2. Loke

Loke Guest

Hi! I can't really tell you the difference since I'm no expert but I did meet someone who said their boxers were German. All I can say is Loke was taller and skinny compared to his 2 which were short and very built and broad. I don't know anything else other than that so I look forward to more knowledgable responses to your question. Welcome to the board!:D

3. None-removed

None-removed Guest

I am going to move this thread to Breed Standard Forum.

The only diffeence between German and American boxers is which passport they carry. :D

4. JulieM

JulieM Boxer Insane

Cubby's response is about exactly right :) It can be argued that "German" Boxers are more stout and bulky, but really there are different styles of dogs in both countries and to assume that one style is from a certain country is unwise at best.

If your dog is from North American lines, you could call him a "North American Boxer." If your dog is from German lines, you could call him a "German Boxer" (although I personally ;) would prefer if you called him a Boxer from NA or German lines - unless he was born in Germany, in which case he'd be a citizen :D)

5. PawPrintBoxers

PawPrintBoxers Banned

German or American?

:LOL: I love this answer!