1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

11 week old size

Discussion in 'Boxer Anatomy and Physiology' started by Dawiz1, Apr 2, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dawiz1

Dawiz1 Boxer Pal

I am new to the boxer world and i have a 11 week old puppy who i am absolutley in love with... however i am a little concerned about his size... he is just 15lbs and looks very frail {ribs and spine showing,} and doesnt like to eat very much... im currently feeding Ali I AM's for large breeds is this not good? both his father and mother are huge and im hoping he catches up to them one day... is this a good weight for his age?

2. seniorbigs

seniorbigs Boxer Pal

Tanner weighed 14pounds at 10 weeks, and looked so scrawny. All his ribs showing and no waist. Then he got sick and lost 2 pounds. Now he is 5 1/2 months and mucho filled out with tons of energy and looks beautiful. Mike

3. hanley

hanley Boxer Insane

puppy size

Have you taken your pup to the doctor, if the DR. thinks he is not sick , don't worry about him, just enjoy him being a baby, he will get big fast enough! But I would change his food , because he is not considered a large breed dog. Boxer Pals Hanley, Susie & Cletus

4. Bers

Bers Banned

I don't think 15 lbs. is a bad weight for him. Boxers are naturally lean and thin looking. My puppy (Koda) is four months old now and starting to fill out, but when he was that age I worried a lot about his weight. That's exactly how much he weighed at 11 wks., and you could see his ribs and hip bones. I asked the vet a couple of times, he said he was very healthy. Your puppy's growing really fast right now, so he needs a lot of calories to keep up. He may look very tall and lanky to you, but he'll grow into those legs!